Site5

Site5 is a web hosting provider that claims to be a fully developer-centric hosting service.

What’s the story?

Site5 might not be one of the most popular web hosting providers around, but it certainly is one of the oldest.

Founded all the way back in 1999, this year marks the 20th year that Site5 has been in the industry.

In 2015, Site5 was acquired by the conglomerate EIG (which also owns Bluehost, HostGator, and many more).

Which begs the question, if Site5 is that old, how come it’s never enjoyed the levels of popularity that giants like Bluehost, HostGator and SiteGround enjoyed?

So we decided to put them to the test, and here’s our Site5 review for you.

Pros of Site5

For the purpose of testing Site5, we set up a simple wordpress site to test their hosting services.

In our 12 months of testing Site5, we saw some good aspects and some not so good aspects of their hosting service.

But as we always do, let’s start with the good first.

1. One Of The Best Uptime In The Industry

In Site5’s website, one of the claims they make is that their customers will enjoy an uptime of 99.9%.

In fact, they’re so confident in their uptime that they offer a guarantee for it.

So how did they perform?

They truly delivered. In our 12 months of testing their website, they managed to provide us with 99.92% uptime.

That’s insane! That’s .05% better than the industry average!

Last 12 month average uptime;

  • June 2018 average uptime – 100%
  • July 2018 average uptime – 100%
  • August 2018 average uptime – 100%
  • September 2018 average uptime – 100%
  • October 2018 average uptime – 99.93%
  • November 2018 average uptime – 100%
  • December 2018 average uptime – 99.98%
  • January 2019 average uptime – 100%
  • February 2019 average uptime – 100%
  • March 2019 average uptime – 99.90%
  • April 2019 average uptime – 100%
  • May 2019 average uptime – 100%
  • June 2019 average uptime – 100%

As you can see from our findings, our Site5 experience has been smooth sailing, in terms of uptime.

From our 12 months of testing, they managed to deliver on 100% uptime for 10 months!

And even their lowest uptime is 99.90%, which is still very high and in the 99.9% range.

2. Uptime Guarantee

Another great thing about Site5 is that they offer a pro-rated service credit guarantee for their uptime.

What does this mean? It means that if their uptime is lower than 99.9%, you will be given credit that you can use to get some discounts on your monthly rate.

As far as I know, Site5 is the only web hosting provider that offers anything like this.

3. Great Customer Service

Customer service is something that can vary wildly from customer to customer.

That’s why before coming to a conclusion on the customer service Site5 offers, we carefully read other people’s reviews and customer’s consensus.

From what we read, we had a reason to expect good customer service from Site5.

And Site5 delivered.

Site5 offers two main ways of getting help, their live chat and their knowledge base.

In the instances where we needed to engage their live chat, their live chat got back to us within seconds, and answered our questions quickly and accurately.

However, there is one drawback to their customer live chat service. Just like what they claim to be, Site5 is a developer-centric hosting provider.

Which means that if you are a beginner, don’t expect any hand-holding or detailed coaching to help you.

Another way of help offered by Site5 is their Knowledge Base.

Their Knowledge base is well equipped with a wide array of articles, which you can use if you prefer to self-help.

4. A 45 Day Money-Back Guarantee

In the web hosting industry, it’s standard practice for a web hosting provider to offer a money back guarantee for customers to try out their services.

Site5 offers this as well, but with one big difference.

Their 45 day money back guarantee is offered with no questions asked, no advanced notification needed, and more.

The only catch is that their 45 day money back guarantee is only for their shared hosting and reseller hosting.

For their VPS hosting, they offer a 15 day money back guarantee.

5. Advanced Features For Standard Plans

In the web hosting industry, usually the lowest plan is saddled with a lot of limitations and restrictions.

And that’s understandable. Web hosting providers had to do that to get people to subscribe to their better plans.

But with Site5, even their standard plans come with some advanced features.

Some of the advanced features you can enjoy with their standard plans includes;

  • Unmetered (unlimited) bandwidth
  • Unmetered diskspace
  • Disaster recovery backups

If you have any experience with web hosting, you know just how good it is the first two is. Basically this ensures that your website will be scalable, meaning that it can grow with your traffic as there is no hard limit on your website.

The last one is a very welcome bonus as well, as disaster recovery backups ensures that you will always have a working version of your site as a backup in case disaster strikes.

Cons of Site5

Judging from the pros of Site5, it seems that Site5 is looking good, and might be a good alternative to other popular web hosting providers.

But before we pass a verdict on Site5, it’s also very important for us to talk about their cons as well.

So in this part of this Site5 review, we’re going to be discussing Site5’s shortcomings.

1. Industry Standard Pricing Manipulation And Expensive Price

The first shortcoming we have to address is Site5’s prices.

As you can see from the title, there are two main reasons why Site5’s pricing is disappointing.

So let’s look at each of them.

The first reason Site5’s pricing is disappointing is due to the pricing manipulation they employ.

You can see from this picture that the price they advertise is only applicable to customers who choose to pay for 2 years upfront.

If you choose to pay for only one year upfront, the price skyrockets. To make things worse, there is no monthly payment option for their HostBasic plan, meaning you have to pay either for 1 year or 2 years if you’re going for that plan.

It has been mentioned before that this type of pricing manipulation is pretty standard in the industry, but that doesn’t make it any less disappointing.

Another reason why Site5’s pricing is just plain bad is simply due to their prices.

Site5’s price is really expensive compared to their competitors.

For example, even their cheapest plan is RM31.58/monthly. And that is assuming you’re committing to them for two years. If you paid upfront for only 1 year, the price is RM40.67/monthly.

Compared to other hosting provider like Hostinger, which only costs RM3.31/monthly, you can see that Site5 is really expensive.

2. Mediocre Page Load Times

In our articles before this, we made it clear that nowadays, visitors won’t put up with slow websites.

Hence, one of the most important factors you have to take into account when choosing a hosting provider is their page load times.

And in this category, Site5 is quite mediocre.

In our 12 months of testing, Site5 only managed to deliver an average of 706ms for their page load time.

Here are our average page load times over 12 months;

  • June 2018 – 674ms
  • July 2018 – 727ms
  • August 2018 – 737ms
  • September 2018 – 710ms
  • October 2018 – 718ms
  • November 2018 – 733ms
  • December 2018 – 680ms
  • January 2019 – 580ms
  • February 2019 – 551ms
  • March 2019 – 654ms
  • April 2019 – 543ms
  • May 2019 – 587ms
  • June 2019 – 575ms

At 706ms, this means that Site5’s page load time is just slightly better than the industry average.

For some hosting providers, this is an acceptable page load time.

But at the price Site5 charging for their service however? It means that their page load time is mediocre.

3. Server Locations

While reading other reviews about Site5, we were under the impression that Site5 has over 21 servers in multiple locations, including Singapore and China for their Asian customer base.

However, we were disappointed to find out that the only server we can choose when signing up is their US Central server.

If you’re based in Malaysia, or your main audience is in Malaysia, then it means that it will take more time for the data to be sent from the servers to your visitors’ computer.

Hosting Plans, Pricing and Facts on Site5

Web Hosting on Site5

HostBasic
Cost: RM31.58/monthly (biennially), RM40.67/monthly (annually)

Features:

• 1 website
• Unlimited bandwidth
• Unlimited diskspace
• Server Backups

HostPro
Cost: RM49.75/monthly (biennially), RM54.29/monthly (annually), RM58.83/monthly (monthly)

Features:

• Unlimited websites
• Unlimited disk space
• Unlimited bandwidth
• Server Backups

HostPro+Turbo
Cost: RM63.37/monthly (biennially), RM67.61/monthly (annually), RM90.62/monthly (monthly)

Features:

• Unlimited Websites
• Unlimited disk space
• Unlimited bandwidth
• Backstage Account Manager

Free Domain No
Sign up Easy signup process
Payment Methods PayPal and Credit Card
Hidden Fees and Clauses

If you’re on a shared hosting plan, and you exceed 75,000 files, or each email accounts exceed 10GB disk space, or each database exceed 2GB disk space, your account might be terminated.

Upsells

No upsell.

Activation of Account

Quick activation

Dashboard Experience and Control Panel

Cpanel available.

Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc) installation

Easy installation of apps and CMSs using Softaculous.

So, is Site5 worth your money?

So now that we’ve looked at the good, the bad, and the ugly of Site5, what do we think? Should you go for Site5’s services?

To be frank, No.

Why? Because even with everything that Site5 offers, we can’t help feel that their shortcomings outweigh their good points.

Of course, there are some good points about Site5, but the fact of the matter is that there are better alternatives out there.

Still Don't Know What You Want?

Tell us about your business and we’ll match the best hosting to your website.

Talk To Us

Get in touch with us to help chart the best path forward for you.

Call/Whatsapp Us

Call to learn more about us, we are just a phone call away.

+6 016 525 1180

Mail Us

Drop us a message, we’re always standing by and eager to help.

info@besthosting.my

You might want to read this...