FastComet

FastComet is a privately owned web hosting firm that provides web hosting services with lots of benefits.

What’s the story?

FastComet was established in 2003 as one of the few privately-owned web hosting company in this day.

Having more than 70 employees who operate at 10 different data centers around the globe, they strive to create and enhance their products and services. A few of their locations are Chicago, London, Amsterdam, Singapore, Mumbai and Tokyo.

What's so special about FastComet

Being a privatized company is already one major uniqueness from the other companies.

Besides, having 10 different servers located in different parts of the world is also something to boast about.

Because in theory the closeness of the servers and people who are trying to reach it is an important factor for better web performance.

Being a privatized company also means that only a few faces and names show up on their website (This will be discussed later on with reasons).

So how will they do? Can they, a little startup company keep up with other prominent hosting brands in a fight to support a global customer base.

To find out about this, we signed up for their cheapest plan 3 years ago and started a basic WordPress website.

Let’s get started with this FastComet review and see if they have what it takes to be the top web hosting company in Malaysia.

Pros of FastComet

In this FastComet review, we’ll find out how a privatized company who’s still small in size and young in age hold up against their own claims.

Good news is that they were able to support most of their claims , having strong uptime for the several months that they were observed.

Not only that, they are very honest in their pricing plans with free additional features in their transparent pricing.

Let’s get the FastComet review started.

1. Strong and Reliable Uptime 

The first thing you’ll see from their website is a comparative chart between them and other web hosts:

Comparison between FastComet and other hosts

They quickly asserted dominance from the get-go by assuring customers that they are one of the best against other brands in the industry.

One good thing is that their uptime was strong as the first few months saw a perfect 100% while only having a slight dropped in other months.

Their average uptime is a about 99.98%.

Last 12 months average uptime:

  • March 2019: 100%
  • April 2019: 100%
  • May 2019: 99.99%
  • June 2019: 100%
  • July 2019: 99.97%
  • August 2019: 99.96%
  • September 2019: 99.96%
  • October 2019: 100%
  • November 2019: 100%
  • December 2019: 100%
  • January 2020: 99.67%
  • February 2020: 99.86%

Half of the months seen an uptime of 100% with the rest at 99%. Based on our FastComet review, this is one of the best uptime compared to the other web hosts we reviewed. So FastComet is definitely one of the top web hosting companies which has  strong uptime.

2. Personal and Quick Customer Support 

Compared to the other web hosting companies, FastComet may be smaller in size but they make that disadvantage into their advantage.

Here’s why – they’ve been in the in the industry before, because the founding team has had over 9 years of experience in the hosting industry.

System Admin for business clients were what they were doing exclusively before FastComet so if they could handle such a giant business, handling a smaller business is nothing to be a problem of.

Their next advantage as a small team is that customer support is not only fast but also friendly which beats out other companies.

An example of how their customer support works is given below.

In FastComet a customer support personnel started answering our questions after just seconds of asking.

The personnel answered our questions within seconds and also in a very friendly manner which shows that it’s not a bot and is willing to assist in any way possible.

From This FastComet review we can see that they put in lots of time in their customer service and isn’t just some company who doesn’t train their staff.

3. Money Back Guaranteed Slightly Longer Than Usual

In our FastComet review, we found out that they have a slightly longer money back guarantee period.

They will provide a full 45 days to claim your money back. Which means you can use their service for more than a month to try out their services or test out their services like how we did it.

This 45 day money back guarantee is definitely one of the longest we’ve seen after reviewing so many web hosts. This proves that FastComet’s service is genuine.

4. Daily Backups for Free!

You’re bound to bump into some problems with your site once in a while and this can be frustrating as it can affect your data in your site. This is something inevitable and definitely has happened to everyone in this industry.

But this is not a problem if you’re using FastComet. Why?

Even though their plan is cheap they offer a free daily back up feature. That’s something very rare in this kind off ‘cheap’ plans.

Next, they’ll also have your data stored for you in their backups for 30 days safely off-site.

Furthermore, in just a single click of a button they’ll assist you in restoring older versions of your site if necessary.

Best of all, all these features are included in all their plans. Definitely like a dream come true.

5. Free Cloudflare CDN

FastComet’s basic plans comes with a complementary Cloudflare content delivery network (CDN) in it.

The purpose of CDN is to host data across global servers so that your  website data loads immediately for anyone wherever they may be.

Normally, other cloud hosting companies don’t even provide this feature in their plans. But if they do, you’ll definitely have to spend a few extra from your pocket as a costly upsell.

Because of this, FastComet is one of the best cloud hosting choices for new businesses to start up and run while also being an open-source friendly for over 150 applications.

6. Migration is Free

If you have a site on the Internet already and wish to move it to their service, FastComet does it for free.

Normally site migrations happen with clauses such as:

  • The hosting company said they provide free migrations but when you actually needed it they sent a support doc to you that you have to figure out on your own.
  • Or, another way is, they’ll automatically move your the info using a ‘wizard’ tool so that they don’t have to move a finger.

On the other hand, FastComet will move your entire site with the help of their expert team.

Meaning you don’t have to lift a finger and it’ll all be done in less than an hour without the need to pay additional fees or purchasing higher plans. How convenient!

7. Free Domain Forever!

This is not a joke!

Sign up with FastComet to get a domain name for life.

After reviewing so many top hosting websites, this it the only one having such a benefit for its customers.

In most cases, a web hosting company will give sell you a domain name happily or they’ll give you a free one year subscription to reduce your need to pay.

After that, what happens?

Once your first year expires, you’ll have to pay their renewal fees and chances are, you won’t be getting a new domain name after that, right?

So for FastComet straight up gives you a domain name for life and this is one of the honesty and transparency in pricing that FastComet shows.

8. Honesty and Transparency in Pricing

Right now FastRocket is having a 60% off  for Winter Sale for all their plans and pricing.

  • FastCloud: $3.95/ month (RM 16.25)
  • FastCloud Plus: $5.95/ month (RM 24.47)
  • FastCloud Extra: $7.95/month (RM 32.70)

You just have to use the coupon (WINTER60) to enjoy the discounted plans.

This is only limited for a period of time and once that’s over the prices will revert back to its original as stated in their website.

  • FastCloud: $9.95/ month (RM 40.93)
  • FastCloud Plus: $14.95/ month (RM 61.50)
  • FastCloud Extra: $19.95/ month (RM 82.07)

As you can see from our FastComet review, they are very honest and transparent with their pricing so it’s up to you whether you want to buy their plans or not.

Cons of FastComet

This comes to a surprise as in our FastComet review, we only have one cons of using their services.

Will this 1 disadvantage get you moving away from their services or will you still want to give it a try.

Let’s start the FastComet review.

1. Speed Concern 

FastComet really had a great start in this FastComet review with their excellent uptime and we hoped that it continued for its speed as well.

However, they lose in terms of speed to fellow competitors like A Small Orange, HostGator and Bluehost.

Unfortunately, we did our comparisons for all the sites that we reviewed and got the actual data about how they performed.

We recently reviewed Bluehost‘s hosting options, and their speeds were quite low with 544ms over the past 24-months.

While, our favorite HostGator has a speed of 412ms.

From these, all the speeds are quite good. But sadly, FastComet didn’t perform well in this category.

For the past 24 months their speed came at an average of 855ms which is very slow.

Last 12 months average load times:

  • March 2019: 690ms
  • April 2019: 691ms
  • May 2019: 697ms
  • June 2019: 729ms
  • July 2019: 884ms
  • August 2019: 863ms
  • September 2019: 798ms
  • October 2019: 809ms
  • November 2019: 782ms
  • December 2019: 768ms
  • January 2020: 763ms
  • February 2020: 678ms

As you can see from this FastComet review, their speed is very slow for the past 12 months.

Hosting Plans, Pricing and Facts on FastComet

Shared Hosting on FastComet

FastCloud
Cost: RM16.25per month

 

Features:

• Free domain name for life
• Space for a single site
• 15 GB SSD space – unmetered traffic

FastCloud Plus
Cost: RM24.47 per month

 

Features:

• Free domain name for life
• Fixed renewal rates
• 25 GB SSD space – unmetered traffic

• Multiple websites

FastCloud Extra
Cost: RM32.70 per month

 

Features:

• Free domain name for life
• Fixed renewal rates
• 35 GB SSD space – unmetered traffic

• Multiple websites
• RocketBooster

Free Domain Yes.
Sign up Easy signup process.
Payment Methods All standard credit cards and PayPal. 
Hidden Fees and Clauses

According to their terms of service, “We cannot and do not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information, including prices, product images, specifications, availability, and services. We reserve the right to change or update information and to correct errors, inaccuracies, or omissions at any time without prior notice.”

Upsells

Yes

Activation of Account

Fast activation

Dashboard Experience and Control Panel

Uses cPanel

Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc) installation

Access to over 150 popular open-source apps.

Do we recommend FastComet?

From our FastComet review, they started out very strong, having so many different benefits if you use their services.

From a strong uptime to an honest and transparent pricing for their plans.

But can having one disadvantage in their services pull them down?

The answer is yes.

The reason as you know is their site’s speed that became a big factor in our decision.

Even though they have the best customer support and provide other freebies, their speed is definitely one of the reason why we don’t recommend using their services.

Having a slow speed in the Internet age is just a big NO. So we don’t recommend you to use their services based on our FastComet review.

All in all, FastComet is still not up to par with the others in Malaysia because of their speed which is just too slow. But they definitely have room for improvement and their other benefits are still very appealing to give it a try.

Still Don't Know What You Want?

Tell us about your business and we’ll match the best hosting to your website.

Talk To Us

Get in touch with us to help chart the best path forward for you.

Call/Whatsapp Us

Call to learn more about us, we are just a phone call away.

+6 016 525 1180

Mail Us

Drop us a message, we’re always standing by and eager to help.

info@besthosting.my

You might want to read this...